If you have higher level access to a form submission, you can view its form history. A Form’s History is the page where you can review a timeline of who has viewed or taken action on a submission.
Note: This feature is only available for users who are logged into their accounts who are approvers or have higher-level permissions. Initiators will not be able to view these notes if they do not have this higher-level access.
Locating the Form History
When a form is submitted online, whether a group or routed form, a form history is generated. You can access a form’s history two ways.
- From the Responses page, you can click on the 3 dots at the end of the given submission and choose “form history” from the dropdown options.
- From the submission itself, you can click on “Form History” at the top right corner of the page.
There are three main columns of information on the Form History page.
- Step - The left column provides information on what step the user was on when a given action was taken. The step label is listed along with how many more steps there may be in the workflow.
- Action - The middle column details what the user was doing when they accessed the form at that given step. There are common actions you may see listed in a form’s history, such as “viewed” or “submitted.” You may also see some additional actions that may need clarification. Here are a few examples:
- Saved Progress - when an initiator or approver clicks “Save Progress” on a form prior to submitting it. Two common use cases would be 1) if an initiator is working through a large packet or if an approver needs to mark a deny decision on a form prior to taking the “deny” action.
- Sent Back - when an approver sends a form back. It is often to correct information on the form or to include an attachment.
- Denied - when a form is denied approval by an approver. This stops a form from continuing through its approval process. If a form was denied in error, form managers and owners can reach out to Support to request that it be reopened.
- Re-Opened - when a form that was previously denied or completed (archived, submitted, or canceled as well) is reopened and sent back to the last approver for approval. Forms may be reopened if the form was inadvertently denied, if there was missing information needed to process the form, or per the request of a form manager. When a form is reopened, the approver receives an email to take action on the form. They can use the emailed link to access the form once again.
- Bounced - when an email cannot be sent to the next approver. This is most often as a result of an incorrect email address. You can navigate back to the submissions page and choose “change approver” from the same dropdown menu where you accessed the form’s history to update the email address. You may also see the bounced status if the approver’s email domain is rejecting the email notification. In these cases, you can reach out to us via the Support widget for help with troubleshooting the issue.
- Canceled - when a form is canceled and no longer an active submission. Forms can be canceled by a district staff member with form facilitator access or higher. If a form is at Step 1, initiators can make a cancel request to Support as well.
If you have any questions regarding an action taken, feel free to reach out to us via the Support widget at the bottom right of your page.
3. User/Time - The last column provides a timestamp of who was the person accessing the form and taking the given action. This information is useful for district staff who may need to account for when a form was sent to a particular initiator or approver.